4 long years

November.7. 2014

For the past 4 years I’ve been on a journey, seeking for a special kind of wisdom, a personal Holy Grail of sorts.

It’s been a long 4 years.

The problem with wisdom journeys like this is that you’re never sure of the outcome, whether you are indeed going to find what you’re searching for or whether it’s just some fool’s gold you’re looking for.

But I was fired up with energy.

Because I knew that the Holy Grail existed. I had seen it in my dreams (literally) and heard it in my mind’s ear.

So I knew it was just a matter of time. Just a matter of continuous digging and never giving up.

One thing about a journey like this, there were many false alarms along the way.

Each time, I thought I had found it, it turned out to be a false lead.

Other people would have given up after one year or even two years of fruitless searching, but not me. Giving up is not in my vocabulary.

And so I persisted, one year, two years, three years.

And always hoping that today is the day that I find it.

And of course always coming up empty.

I have a good friend who I confided in about my search and every time I told this friend that I thought I have found it, all I heard was a kind of silence that said, ‘Yes, I’ve heard that one before.’

But one thing I’ve always believed in is that if you want something badly enough, you will find it.

That’s not just wishful thinking, it’s a basic law of nature.

Because if you search long enough, you will eventually cover every piece of territory, turn over every stone, follow every lead, try every option, and eventually you will get to that one stone that’s hiding the treasure, you will find the option that will give you the answers you’re searching for.

Just a matter of time.

The operative words here are of course, “badly enough.”

You have to want something badly enough to search for 4 years.

So here’re the two lessons I learned.

First, be prepared for many false leads in your search. But never give up. Few people will hit the jackpot on the first attempt.

Second, things are always a bit more complicated than you expect. Sometimes, to get to point C, you have to get to points A and B first. In other words, before you can arrive at the level represented by C, you’ll have to first have the right conditions in place and those conditions are the levels represented by points A and B.

Leave a Reply

